Just Ok: Ghosts, Atmosphere, & Disappointment

I recently finished Sadie Jones The Uninvited Guests. I have been working on reading this novel since mid-summer, but only finished the novel this month. It was… okay.

Uninvited Guests

The Uninvited Guests is a ghost story that starts very strong, but ends on a few fairly disappointing notes.

I was really looking forward to this novel. I am a fan of a well written ghost story, and had heard excellent reviews and opinions of this one.

The novel begins promisingly. I liked the author’s style of writing, and felt that she did a great job setting up the appropriate atmosphere. It made me excited to know what happened next. The novel also has very long beginning chapters, though – which is a little disconcerting, when you don’t realize it. You tell yourself you’re just going to read a chapter before beginning your homework, and an hour or more later, you realize you’re still not quite done with the first chapter yet. (I’m possibly exaggerating, plus I read slow, but still, the chapter’s pretty long.)

In addition, my friend began reading this novel at the same time, and she did not initially enjoy the author’s style of writing. So it’s possible that not everyone would initially like the novel.

The setup was great, the characters were well written, I wanted to keep reading –

And then, the last third of the book takes a turn towards Disappointment Ranch.

Disappointment Ranch - where the

Disappointment Ranch – where the good ol’ American need for expansion usually results in death by malaria.

The characters change very suddenly, and without much reason. So the story feels as though it’s resolved very abruptly, like the author knew what ending she wanted, but ran out of steam trying to get there.

And far too much of the story’s last third and resolution depends on love. I have a boyfriend, and a son, and I love both of them, but the use of love at the end of this novel struck me as overwhelming. I was ready to throw my hands up and yell: “Yech! Stop! Cooties!” even though no kissing or sexy times occurred.

Have you read The Uninvited Guests? What were your opinions? Did you find the ending disappointing?

One thought on “Just Ok: Ghosts, Atmosphere, & Disappointment

  1. Pingback: Wow. | The Meandering Musings of a Media-Consuming Mom

Leave a Reply

