Fighting While Proofreading: Spaces & Periods

I’m not the best writer, and the American school system did not do a great job of explicating the technicalities of grammar. But the few obscurer grammar rules that I think I’ve managed to ascertain, I will fight about until a Google search proves me either correct or incorrect.

One such fight erupted recently between my boyfriend and I whilst he was proofreading my essays for graduate school applications. Specifically, the fight concerned how many spaces to place between the period marking the end of one sentence, and the beginning of the next sentence.

I said you only need one space; he said you need two.

Proofreading...

Proofreading…

The resulting Google search yielded this link, which tells you that – drum roll, please –

The recommendation is ONE space.

I love being right.

Leave a Reply

